Veljotormis1.jpg Ellerhein Chamber Choir: Veljo Tormis (1)
Melodiya C10 14085-6
Recorded in Estonia in 1976 (Tracks 1 to 13) and 1978 (Tracks 14-15). Released in 1981.
Sound Engineer:Paul Krünberk; Producer:Kaupo Uibo (Tracks 1 to 13) and Enn Tomson (Tracks 14-15); Design and Photo: Jaan Klõšeiko and Tõnu Tormis.
All compositions by Veljo Tormis (1930-)
Tracks 1.-13. Kolmteist Eesti Lüürilist Rahvalaulu (Thirteen Estonian Lyrical Folksongs) for mixed choir (1972) (18:43)
Ellerhein Chamber Choir / Tõnu Kaljuste
Tracks 14.-15. Kaks Eesti Runolaulu (Two Estonian Runosongs)
for two female singers and piano (1973-4) (18:50) [texts from original folksongs adapted by Jaan Kaplinski]
Singers from the Ellerhein Chamber Choir:Tiina Kaunissaar and Lea Sild (Track 14); Katrin Ehala and Anne Loog (Track 15); Valdur Roots:piano.
Commissions, Dedications and Awards
Research in progress.
Music Publishers
The publishing source for the scores on this recording are not identified.
Other Points of Interest and Links
1. The 13 Estonian Lyrical Folksongs were re-recorded by the Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir for the 2000 Carus Verlag recording Veljo Tormis:Heaps of Songs. The 2 Estonian Runosongs were re-recorded by the Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir for the 1999 ECM recording Veljo Tormis:Litany to Thunder.
2. The original Estonian liner notes for this LP were by conductor Tõnu Kaljuste and composer Veljo Tormis and can be read in an English translation here.
Back to the Tõnu Kaljuste Discography
Back to the Veljo Tormis Discography