inspe.jpg In Spe: In Spe
Melodiya C60 19367 001
Recorded in 1982 at the Tallinn Townhall Studio (LP label at the time said "Recorded in 1983").
Released as a 12" vinyl LP in Estonia, 1983. The LP appears to have been quite popular as several editions of it were released. Initial pressings of Estonian rock LPs at the time were 10,000 to 15,000 copies. There is at least one reissue of In Spe from 1983 in an edition of 2,000 copies. There was a reissue as late as 1986 with a small pressing of 400 copies. Reissued on CD by Estonian Radio in 1999 as ERCD 028.
Recording Engineer: Priit Kuulberg.
This recording by the group "In Spe" contains the first recordings of Erkki-Sven Tüür's compositions. These are described as for "chamber rock ensemble" and were inspired by the prevalent progressive rock movement of the 1970's/early 1980's. These compositions date from the years 1979 to 1981.
Music by Erkki-Sven Tüür
1. Sümfoonia seitsmele esitajale (Symphony for Seven Performers) 19:31
In 3 movements: I. Ostium, II. Illuminatio, III. Mare Vitreum.
2. Antidolorosum (lyrics: Artur Alliksaar) 4:47
3. Päikesevene (The Sunboat) 8:59
4. Sfääride võitlus (The Fight of the Spheres) 7:19
Members of "In Spe" at the time of this recording
Peeter Brambat (flute, tenor recorder),
Toivo Kopli (bass guitar),
Priit Kuulberg (digital normalizer, Roland Vocoder),
Mart Metsala (Prophet 5, Roland Jupiter 8, Hammond, VLM.),
Riho Sibul (guitars),
Anne Tüür (Fender Rhodes, Yamaha Electric Grand),
Erkki-Sven Tüür (Minimoog, Prophet 5, Roland Jupiter 8, flute, recorder, vocal (2)),
Arvo Urb (drums).
Back to Erkki-Sven Tüür on Vinyl LP