inspecd.jpg In Spe: In Spe
Estonian Radio ERCD 028
Recorded in 1982 at the Tallinn Townhall Studio.
Reissue on CD by Estonian Radio in 1999. Originally released as a 12" vinyl LP on Melodiya C60 19367 001 in Estonia in 1983.
Original Recording Engineer and CD-mastering: Priit Kuulberg; Producer for reissue: Tiia Teder
This recording by the group In Spe contains the first officially released recordings of Erkki-Sven Tüür's compositions. These are described as for "chamber rock ensemble" and were inspired by the prevalent progressive rock movement of the 1970's/early 1980's. These compositions date from the years 1979 to 1981. There is an extensive amount of background information available in English and Estonian at the Estonian Radio website for the In Spe reissue.
Music by Erkki-Sven Tüür
1. Sümfoonia seitsmele esitajale (Symphony for Seven Performers) 19:31
In 3 movements: I. Ostium, II. Illuminatio, III. Mare Vitreum.
2. Antidolorosum (lyrics: Artur Alliksaar) 4:47
3. Päikesevene (The Sunboat) 8:59
4. Sfääride võitlus (The Fight of the Spheres) 7:19
Members of In Spe at the time of this recording
Peeter Brambat (flute, tenor recorder),
Toivo Kopli (bass guitar),
Priit Kuulberg (digital normalizer, Roland Vocoder),
Mart Metsala (Prophet 5, Roland Jupiter 8, Hammond, VLM.),
Riho Sibul (guitars),
Anne Tüür (Fender Rhodes, Yamaha Electric Grand),
Erkki-Sven Tüür (Minimoog, Prophet 5, Roland Jupiter 8, flute, recorder, vocal (2)),
Arvo Urb (drums).
Other information and Links of interest
Mel Huang at his excellent Estonian Progressive Rock Webpage has further information on the In Spe chamber rock ensemble as well as pages on the original In Spe LP, the In Spe CD reissue and an enthusiastic descriptive review of the first In Spe recording. The latter will especially be useful for those who are unable to obtain this recording but would at least like to imagine how it sounds. Mr. Huang's descriptions are very evocative of the music.
Back to Erkki-Sven Tüür on Vinyl LP