rujaboxset.jpg Ruja: Need ei vaata tagasi... (They do not look back...)
5 CD Boxset (contained in 2 separate jewel cases)
Hyper Elwood 474-0447-10162-0 (Discs 1&2) 474-0447-10172-9 (Discs 3,4&5)
Recorded live and in the studio from 1971 to 1989. Originally released in 1999 in a limited edition. Reissued in 2000.
This boxset is an overview of the career of the popular Ruja rock group from its early progressive rock days through various incarnations with different members over the years. Ruja's lead singer, Urmas Alender (pictured on the CD cover), was the one constant feature of the group. Alender died tragically in the MS Estonia ferry disaster on September 28, 1994 and this boxset and an earlier single CD collection are dedicated to his memory. The group commonly performed its own compositions but Ruja lead guitarist Jaanus Nõgisto enjoyed an early piece by Erkki-Sven Tüür and had his group record it. This 1999 retrospective is the first official release of this 1978 rarity, which was one of the first songs every written by the young Erkki-Sven Tüür. Priit Kuulberg, who plays bass guitar on this recording, was also a future member of the Erkki-Sven Tüür chamber rock ensemble In Spe.
Composition by Erkki-Sven Tüür on Disc 2 Üle müüri (Over the wall) 1976-1979
3. Avanemine (Opening) (music: Erkki-Sven Tüür; lyrics: Erkki-Sven Tüür)
Members of Ruja at the time of this recording
Urmas Alender (vocals),
Jaanus Nõgisto (guitars),
Margus Kappel (keyboards),
Priit Kuulberg (bass),
Ivo Varts (drums)
Other information and Links of interest
There is more information about this release at Mel Huang's excellent Estonian Progressive Rock Webpage. There is a page on Disc 2 Üle müüri of the Boxset and an enthusiastic descriptive review of the disc. The latter will especially be useful for those who are unable to obtain this recording, but would at least like to imagine how it sounds. Mr. Huang's descriptions are very evocative of the music.
Back to Erkki-Sven Tüür on Vinyl LP