Toronto Dance Logo
Home   Classes   Registration   Introduction   About Us
Events   Articles   Special Topics   Publicity
Testimonials   Photos   Links   Contact Us


You are here: Home > Events > Dance Events Fall 2005

Dance Events Fall 2005

Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Fri Dec 30
Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sat Dec 3
Outing for Latin-Ballroom students Fri Dec 2
Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Sun Nov 27
Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sun Nov 13
Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Sat Nov 12
Outing for Latin-Ballroom students Fri Nov 4
Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Fri Oct 28
Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sat Oct 22
Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Fri Oct 14
Watch "Ballroom Bootcamp" TV Show weekly
Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sat Oct 8
Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Wed Oct 5
Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sun Sep 25
Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sat-Sun Sep 16-17
Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Fri Sep 9

Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Fri 2005-12-30

There is a Toronto Dance-only official outing Fri Dec 30 for students at all levels and their guests. Please check your emails for details. You must be on a Toronto Dance invitation list to get in.

The location is One Up, 130 Dundas St W (just west of Bay St). The cost is $10 which includes a 1-hour lesson. There is an option for a 3-course dinner which includes the lesson and dance for a total of $30. Click here for the menu.

Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sat 2005-12-03

Come out and watch local Ontario and Quebec latin-ballroom competitors. The "DanceSport for Charities" competition is at the Rameses Banquet Hall, 3100 Keele St (near Sheppard). Click here for detailed information. Contact us if you are interested in going.

Outing for Latin-Ballroom students Fri 2005-12-02

There is an official outing Fri Dec 2 to Westway Club for Latin-Ballroom students at all levels. This is your end-of-term dance outing. Please check your emails for details.

Westway Club is located on 291 Evans St - click here for a map. It starts at 8:00pm. The discounted cost is $12 including a light hot meal at 10:00pm. Dress code applies - no jeans or T-shirts. Check your emails for your invitation. You need to be on a Toronto Dance list to get the discount.

Outing report: There were 71 Toronto Dance students and 6 guests for a total of 77 people. This was a great outing.

Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Sun 2005-11-27

There is an official outing Sun Nov 27 to El Rancho for students at all levels. El Rancho is at 430 College St. Please check your emails for details. There is a discounted price but you must be on a list to get the discount.

Sharon will be teaching a 45-min Cha Cha lesson 8:00-8:45pm.

Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sun 2005-11-13

Come out and watch local Ontario and Quebec amateur and professional latin-ballroom competitors. The "Maple Leaf Classic" competition is at the Renaissance parque Convention Centre, 2800 Hwy 7 West (east of Hwy 400), Concord. Click here for more information. Contact us if you are interested in going.

The tentative schedule is as follows:

  • 9:00-11:30am: Junior & Juvenille - Pre-Bronze to Gold
  • 11:30am-5:30pm: Pro-Am all levels
  • 6:00-10:30pm: Professional and Amateur - Pre-Champ and Championship
Tickets:
  • Daytime: $15
  • Evening: $25, $35, $45

Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Sat 2005-11-12

There is an official outing Sat Nov 12 to Acrobat Lounge for students at all levels. Acrobat is at 2464 Yonge St (north of Eglinton). There is a maximum of 175 people. Please check your emails for details. There is a discounted price but you must be on a list to get the discount.

There will be a level 1 and level 2+ lesson at 8:45-9:45pm taught by Sharon and Caryl.

Outing for Latin-Ballroom students Fri 2005-11-04

There is an official outing Fri Nov 4 to Danforth Baptist Church for Latin-Ballroom students at all levels. Please check your emails for details. This is a great place to practice your dance steps in a Toronto Dance-only environment.

Outing report: There were 60 Toronto Dance students and 1 guest who attended for a total of 61 people. There were about 54 level 1 students attending and they danced most of the time. Chuan reviewed the Foxtrot and Cha Cha but as a surprise, taught some Samba. So many students said they thoroughly enjoyed the practice.

Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Fri 2005-10-28

There is an official Halloween outing Fri Oct 28 to Stir Lounge for students at all levels. Stir Lounge is at 1345 St. Clair Ave West (at Lansdowne Ave). Please check your emails for details. The cover is $4 if you wear a costume or $6 if you don't.

There will be a level 1 and level 2+ lesson at 8:45-9:45pm taught by Sharon and Caryl.

Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sat 2005-10-22

Come out and watch local Ontario and Quebec latin-ballroom competitors. The "Ontario Open Championships" competition is at the Rameses Banquet Hall, 3100 Keele St (near Sheppard). Contact us if you are interested in going.

For ticket info, contact Andrew or Kasia Wajzer at 905-670-2510 or email entertainmentaw@aol.com . Click here for the schedule.

Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Fri 2005-10-14

There is an official outing Fri Oct 14 to Acrobat Lounge for students at all levels. Acrobat is at 2464 Yonge St (north of Eglinton). There is a maximum of 175 people. Please check your emails for details. There is a discounted price but you must be on a list to get the discount.

There will be a level 1 and level 2+ lesson at 8:45-9:45pm taught by Sharon and Caryl.

Watch "Ballroom Bootcamp" TV Show weekly

Do you enjoy watching latin-ballroom competitors or wish that you could dance like them? There is a good TV show on TLC that show what beginner competitors go through to prepare for a competition. Please click here for details about the show and some videos and photos from the show. The instructors are: Gocha Chertkoev, Christian Perry, and Susannah Cuesta.

Show schedule, Rogers cable 34, TLC (30-min program):

  • Cha Cha: Fri Oct 7 10:00pm, Sat Oct 8 1:00am, Fri Oct 14 7:00pm, Sat Oct 15 2:00am
  • Tango: Fri Oct 14 10:00pm, Sat Oct 15 1:00am, Sat Oct 15 1:00pm, Sun Oct 16 2:00am, Fri Oct 21 7:00pm, Sat Oct 22 2:00am, Fri Nov 25 5:00pm
  • Jive: Fri Oct 21 10:00pm, Sat Oct 22 1:00am and 1:00pm, Wed Oct 26 10:00pm, Thu Oct 27 1:00am, Fri Oct 28 7:00pm, Sat Oct 29 2:00am
  • Waltz: Fri Oct 28 10:00pm, Sat Oct 29 1:00am, Fri Nov 25 7:00pm, Sat Nov 26 2:00am
  • RUmba: Fri Nov 4 10:00pm, Sat Nov 5 1:00am, Wed Nov 9 10:00pm, Thur Nov 10 1:00am, Fri Nov 11 7:00pm, Sat Nov 12 2:00am, Fri Nov 25 8:00pm and 11:00pm
  • ?: Fri Nov 11 10:00pm, Sat Nov 12 1:00am, Wed Nov 16 10:00pm, Thur Nov 17 1:00am, Fri Nov 18 7:00pm, Sat Nov 19 2:00am, Fri Nov 25 9:00pm, Sat Nov 26 midnight
  • ?: Fri Nov 18 10:00pm, Sat Nov 19 1:00am, Fri Nov 25 10:00pm, Sat Nov 26 1:00am, Wed Nov 30 10:00pm, Thur Dec 1 1:00am
  • Cha Cha: Wed Nov 23 10:00pm, Thur Nov 24 1:00am, Fri Nov 25 4:00pm

Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sat 2005-10-08

Come out and watch local Ontario latin-ballroom competitors. The "Blue Silver Trophy Ball" competition is at the Rameses Banquet Hall, 3100 Keele St (near Sheppard). Click here for full details. Usually there are competitors from Quebec but there happens to be a competition in Montreal on the same day! Contact us if you are interested in going.

Schedule:

  • Daytime: doors open 11:00am, competition starts 11:45am
  • Evening: doors open 6:30pm, competition starts 7:00pm
Tickets:
  • Daytime: $15 general seating
  • Evening: 1st row $40, 2nd & 3rd row $35
For ticket info, call Margaret Gordon at 416-763-5351 or Liz Pastorek at 905-508-7813.

Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Wed 2005-10-05

There is an inofficial outing Wed Oct 5 to Babal˙u for students at level 2 and higher. Babal˙u is at 136 Yorkville Ave (at Avenue Rd). Please check your emails for details. There is no cover charge but coat check is $2/person.

There will be a level 1 and level 2+ lesson at 8:45-9:45pm taught by Sharon and Caryl.

Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Sun 2005-09-25

Come out and watch local latin-ballroom competitors. The "Niagara Dancesport Ballroom Dance" competition is held in Niagara Falls.

Watch a Latin-Ballroom competition Fri-Sat 2005-09-16/17

Come out and watch local (and some from Europe) latin-ballroom competitors. The "Canada DanceSport IDSF" competition is at the Kingston Military Community Sports Centre, CFB, Kingston. Click here for full details. Contact us if you are interested in going.

Schedule:

  • Fri 7:00pm-11:00pm:
    • Youth Championship Latin
    • Under 21 Championship Latin
    • Over 35 Champsionship Latin and Standard
    • IDSF Open Latin
  • Sat 11:00am-3:30pm:
    • Junior Latin and Standard: Pre-Bronze to Pre-Championship
    • Youth Latin and Standard: Pre-Bronze to Pre-Championship
    • Over 35 Latin and Standard: Pre-Bronze to Pre-Championship
    • Over 16 Latin and Standard: Pre-Bronze to Pre-Championship
  • Sat 7:00pm-11:30pm:
    • Junior Latin and Standard: Championship
    • Youth Standard: Championship
    • IDSF Open Standard
    • Showcase Competition
The above link lists ticket prices and hotel accomodations.

Dress code (esp for evening events): The dress code is semi-formal, so a tie and jacket is recomended for men, and proper evening attire for women. No jeans please.

Outing for Salsa-Nightclub students Fri 2005-09-09

There is an official outing Fri Sep 9 to Acrobat Lounge for students at all levels. Acrobat is at 2464 Yonge St (north of Eglinton). There is a maximum of 175 people. Please check your emails for details. There is a discounted price but you must be on a list to get the discount.

There will be a level 1 and level 2+ lesson at 8:45-9:45pm taught by Sharon and Caryl.


Toronto Dance Logo
Home   Classes   Registration   Introduction   About Us
Events   Articles   Special Topics   Publicity
Testimonials   Photos   Links   Contact Us