About Slovenia

 KSK Home : About Slovenia



The Republic of Slovenia is a democratically and socially governed state. The highest legislative authority is the National Assembly, which has 90 deputies elected for a four year term of office. The National Council, with 40 deputies, performs an advisory role. The President of the Republic represents Slovenia and is at the same time the supreme commander of defence forces. The government is the highest executive body.

In October of 2000, 1,588,528 citizens of the Republic of Slovenia had the right to vote for the deputies to the National Assembly. A total of 1,114,170 voted, a 70.14% turnout. The results (by political party) were:

Seats Political Party Party Leader Votes
34 Liberal Democrats of Slovenia (LDS) Dr. Janez Drnovšek 36.26%
14 Social Democratic Party (SDS) Janez Janša 15.81%
11 United List of Social Democrats (ZLSD) Borut Pahor 12.08%
9 Slovenian People's Party (SLS+SKD) Janez Podobnik 9.54%
8 New Slovenia - Christian People's Party (NSi) Dr. Andrej Bajuk 8.66%
4 Democratic Party of Pensioners (DeSUS) Janko Kušar 5.17%
4 Slovenian National Party (SNS) Zmago Jelinčič 4.39%
4 Youth Party of Slovenia (SMS) Dominik S. Cernjak 4.34%
1 Italian ethnic minority
1 Hungarian ethnic minority

Facts and Figures

(... based on 1996 statistical data)

The population of Slovenia is 1,991,189.

There are about 250,000 Slovenians living outside the borders of Slovenia. There are significant Slovenian minorities in Italy (Friuli-Venezia, Giulia), in Austria (Carinthia, Stiria), Hungary (Porabje), in Croatia (Zagreb, Split).

There are Slovenian communities in Canada, the United States, Argentina, Australia and over much of Europe.

The population density per square kilometre is 98.3

Area in square km: 20,273

Length of the border;1,334 km (Austria 330 km, Croatia 670 km, Italy 232 km, Hungary 102km).

The capital city of Slovenia is Ljubljana with 269,972 inhabitants (Dec 1994). Other major cities are Maribor, Murska Sobota, Celje, Kranj, Novo Mesto, Nova Gorica and Koper.

In Slovenia there are 192 Municipalities.

Currency: Slovenian tolar, introduced on October 8, 1991.

The highest mountain is Triglav, 2,864 metres above sea level.

The largest natural lake is Lake Bohinj with 11000 m of extent with 526 metres above sea level.

Slovenia has 2 Universities, Ljubljana and Maribor.

Medical staff per 100,000 inhabitants: physicians 68.1, specialists 142.9, dentists 56.3, pharmacists 35.7

Education: Primary education 824 schools with 200.938 pupils, secondary education 154 schools with 107,041 students.

In Slovenia there are 8 professional theatres and 5 professional orchestras.

Principal tourist centers are: Kranjska gora, Bled, Bohinj, Bovec, Logarska dolina, Pohorje and Portoroz. Accommodation capacity of hotels in Slovenia is 77,803 beds.

Trade balance: export US$ 8,306,000, imports US$ 9,397,000. Principal trade partners of Slovenia are Germany, Italy, Croatia and Austria.