Brief History | Grounds | Club Contacts | Merit Awards | Sponsors | Aprés Match | Sitemap

Rugby ball A Short History - The Beginnings

The Montreal Barbarians Rugger Club was founded in 1953 and played its first full season the following year. Formed as an offshoot of the Westmount club, the Barbarians wasted no time in establishing themselves. By their second season they were playing winning rugby and in 1957 were Quebec Rugby Union champions.

The early 1960's saw the formation of the Saint Lawrence Rugger and Cricket Association, comprised of the Barbarians and the Wanderers Rugby clubs and the Saint Lawrence Cricket League. The association's goal was to establish a permanent home for both these sports. Farm land was purchased outside Montreal in Ste. Chrysostome, and based in their new home, the Barbarians went on a tear, ending in 1963 and 1965 by winning the Eastern Canadian Championship.

That season proved to be a milestone season for the Barbarians, now nicknamed the "Barbs" in the many headlines that they received. Ray Cornbill, a standout for the Barbs at that time, went on to later coach the U.S. Eagles, the American national team.

The late sixties and early seventies saw a decline in the popularity of the sport and the Barbs were forced to literally 'sell the farm'.

Relying on municipal fields throughout Montreal, the club eventually settled in the West Island area of Montreal, where they have remained since.

The Barbarians F.C. - the United Nations of Rugby since December 27th, 1890.
(Our namesake and their famous black and white hoops.)

up to top button

Rugby ball Barbs Base - Home Field

DDO Logo Ville de Montréal
Borough of Dollard-des-Ormeaux/Roxboro
DDO Logo
Since the early eighties the Barb's home field has been WESTWOOD PARK in Dollard-Des-Ormeaux.
Map to Westwood Park THE BACKUP FIELDS ARE:
1. Ecole Secondaire Des Sources (Centennial Park)
  • Lake (2900) & Westpark
  • North on Sources
  • Left at de Salaberry (Wendy's)
  • Right at Lake (first lights)

alternate route

  • North on Sources
  • Left at Churchill (Ultramar opposite Sunnydale)
  • Right at Lake
2. Dollard-Des-Ormeaux Park (artificial turf field)
  • Southwest corner of Lake & De Salaberry
  • North on Sources
  • Left at De Salaberry (Wendy's)
  • Left at Lake (first lights)
3. Westminster Park
  • North on St-Jean to Westminster (Stay left St-Jean)
  • Left (Ultramar) at Westminster
  • Right (Third stop sign) at Durham
  • Left (First stop sign) at Chapleau
Please check the schedule in the event of a possible change.

up to top button

Rugby ball Officers of the Club and Committee Chairpersons

Club President Lianne Bragg 514.883.6936
Club Vice-Presidents Grant Aldridge - Men
Katerina Syragakis - Women
Jason Thompson - Youth
Melany Waring - Juniors
Club Treasurer Mike Fiacco 514.715.6840
Club Secretary Samantha Cyr 514.882.5722
Senior Coaching Staff John Thompson - Club Coach
Melany Waring
Jason Thompson
Junior & Youth Coaches TBA -
Captains Alex Tessier - Women
Jenna Thompson - Women
Tsvetan Petkov - Men
Fixtures Chairs vacant - Men
Margaret Marak - Women
Equipment Chair Open -
Web Site Editors John Thompson - Original
Jasmine Akkermans - New
Social Chair Mandi Brunet 514.244.4885
Fund Raising Chair Kera Bridgman-Ibrahim 514.949.3874
Tour/Tournaments Chair Margaret Marak 514.792.7946
Recruiting/Publicity Chair Jenna Thompson 514-929-4599
Club Merchandize - Sales - Ordering Information

up to top button

Rugby ball TOTH Merit Award Winners - 2016

The Terror Of The Highlands (TOTH) Merit Awards - Awarded since 1985

Created by former captain Hamish "Terror of the Highlands" Steedman. Nicknamed so by captain Bobby Gamble.

Before returning to Scotland, which Hamish denied was to find a girl who could understand his accent and eventually marry him (this promptly happened upon his return), Hamish created his legacy to the club that had been a large part of his life while he lived in Canada. Hamish had found that there wasn't enough recognition by the club for the outstanding efforts by some of its members both on and off the field.

TOTH Awards Category Recipient
Most Valuable Player Men Tsvetan Petov
Most Valuable Player Women Alexandra Tessier
Most Valuable Player U18 men Corey Raymond-Block
Most Valuable Player U18 Women Sydnie Baynes
Most Valuable Player U15 Men Giancarlo Buonamici
Most Valuable Member Men Jason Thompson
Most Valuable Member Women Katerina Syragakis
Most Improved Player Men Scott Wilson
Most Improved Player Women Samantha Cyr
Most Improved Player U15 Men Anthony Giannatsis
Rookie-of-the-Year Men Saber Dergham
Rookie-of-the-Year Women Audrey Morand
Rookie-of-the-Year U18 Men Jordan Artzy-McCendie
Defensive Player U15 Men Peter Mounsef

Hamish donated a plaque on which the names of all the award winners are engraved each year. He brought up the idea of special black golf shirts that the senior winners could wear to club functions to be recognized for their achievements by their club mates. Juniors winners receive plaques or trophies.

When you see a Montreal Barbarian in a black golf shirt embroidered with the club logo you know that he or see did not buy it, but rather, they earned it as a symbol of recognition by fellow members for their outstanding contribution to the club.

Rugby ball Non-TOTH Merit Awards Winners - 2016

Club Awards Recipient
King Hiscock Award
Presented in memory of King
to a member of the Barbarians who best exemplifies the qualities of:
"Leadership, Sportsmanship and Commitment"
John Thompson
Kelly-Anne Drummond Memorial Award
Presented in memory of Kelly-Anne, who died a senseless and tragic death,
to a member of the Barbarians who best exemplifies the qualities of:
"Perseverance, Sportsmanship and Dedication to Excellence"
Audrey Morand
Thompson Volunteer-Of-The-Year Award
Awarded Annually To A Club Member In Recognition Of:
"Their Tireless Service On Behalf Of The Club"
John Giannatsis
Golden Ram Award
Presented Annually To The Junior Player Who Demonstrates:
"Exceptional Commitment, Determination and Outstanding Ability"
Colin Frost
Belly Brothers Award
Awarded to a deserving front row player
Emerise Moncion
Cam Newland Award
Awarded to a departing member for their social contributions to the club
Jasmine Moumne & Solange de Blois
Coach's Awards Recipient
Ryan Francis 100% Club
Devotedness to training and game day availability.
Bianca Della Porta, Grant Aldridge
Chuck Bethel Iron Woman & Iron Man Awards
Commitment to training. (90% or more sessions)
Melany Waring, Jasmine Moumne
Audrey Morand, Shera Robinson
Bianca Della Porta, Grant Aldridge
Jenna Thompson, Lianne bragg
Kat Syragakis
Honorable Mention
Contributions Above And Beyond The Call Of Duty
Melany Waring, Jasmine Moumne
Chris Micheletti, Jason Thompson
John Giannatsis, Tsvetan Petkov
Mike Fiacco, Derek Della Rocca

up to the top button

Rugby ball Our Booster Club - Our Partners

The Barbarians are especially grateful to the following members of our Booster Club:

Morty's Worldpay
Platinum Gold
tdah Sponsor this area
Silver Bronze
Thomcraft Kewltv

Thank you to all our faithful sponsors and fans for your loyal support.

up to top button

Rugby ball Aprés Match - The Drink-ups

Duffy's - Dorval
men drinking 1060 Chemin Herron
Dorval, Q.C.
H9S 1B3

After Training!!
After Games!!

women drinking

up to top button

Home | Alumni News | Bulletin Board | Juniors | Rugby Store | Sitemap | Team Info

Copyright John Thompson 1997 - 2017.