Laurentian Rogaine

Saturday September 10, 2016 - 4 & 8 Hour Events

A Map and Compass Adventure Sport

ROGAINE is an acronym for a Rugged Outdoor Group Activity Involving Navigation and Endurance. Originating in Australia, this map and compass adventure sport is becoming popular in North America. It is an accessible recreational outdoor activity for amateurs It is also a relevant skill test for many professionnals. Participants in a Rogaine come from diverse backgrounds: Outdoors enthusiasts, Hikers, Runners, Orienteering racers, Adventure racers, Eco-challengers, Scouts, Army cadets, Military, Search and Rescue personnel, Police officers and Fire department personnel.

 

The basic idea of a Rogaine is simple: Teams consisting of two to four people visit as many controls as possible and return to the finish in the time allotted. The most important skill is the ability to read a map. It is also important that teammates work well together. Each participant is given a printed topographic map with control locations circled on it prior to the start. Each control will be marked in the field by an orange and white flag. Each team will use a pin punch located at the flag to punch a card to prove that they were at the location. Each team will have a listing of the description of where each flag is hung (ex. Hilltop, Valley, Field corner, etc).

 

Schedule: Registration desk will be open between 8:00 and 9:00 am. Come early. There will be a mandatory briefing session at 9:00 am followed by the distribution of the maps. Control cards will be distributed just before the start. Mass start will be at 10:00 am. Do not be late because we will be on time.

 

Map: The map is specifically produced for this event with all control locations and water stops premarked. Trails, man made objects, hydrographic and topographic features have been precisely surveyed and added to the map using the best geographic databases available and exhaustive field checking. The map will have magnetic north lines printed on it for compass users.

 

Categories: HE8, FE8, XE8, HM8, FM8, XM8, HV8, FV8, XV8 (H: men / F: women / X: mixed) (E: Elite age 18-39 / M: Master age 40-54 / V: Veteran age 55+) (8 hour event). The team category is based on teammates ages average on the day of the event. Z4 category will meet the needs of families and solo participants (no gender and age structure for the 4 hour event).

 

Rules: No vehicular transport is allowed during the event. No aid from others is allowed during the event. Food/supply drops prior to the event are prohibited. For safety reasons, team members must stay in sight and speaking distance throughout the event.

 

Scoring: Each control will have a score associated with it (easy locations will have a lower score than the tougher locations). Each team's final score will be determined by adding up the score from each control visited. Teams returning after the finish time will have their total score reduced for each minute overtime (10 points per minute).

 

Terrain: The area consists of many hills, lakes and marshes. An extensive trails system exists in the area. The area is mainly forested and the runnability is variable.

 

Equipment: Participants are expected to carry everything they will need during the event. Each team member must carry a whistle, a compass and a water bottle. There will be many water stops through the area. Also recommended are food, long pants, extra clothes, protective goggles, first aid supplies, cellular phone and a small pack for carrying supplies. Food and liquids will be provided at the event center as the event end.

 

Directions: The event center, start and finish will be at the Viking Ski Club house in Morin Heights. It is easily reached via Autoroute 15 north Exit 60 (Saint-Sauveur). Take route 364 west for 9 km. Turn left at the traffic light in Morin Heights (IGA) and take road 329 toward south for 5 km until Perry/Jackson road. Turn sharp right on Perry/Jackson road and turn immediately left on Jackson road. Follow Jackson road for 2 km until the Viking house on your right. The parking is only possible along north side of Jackson road. Avoid obstructing private driveways. Coordinates: 45.869360 N, 74.290530 W. Address: 393 Jackson road, Morin Heights, Quebec.

 

Registration: By Email or mail. You must provide your team name, team members names, dates of birth, category, addresses, phone numbers and emails. No registration will be accepted on the day of the event.

 

Fees: $80/person before September 3. Half price for participants in the Z4 category. Send one check per team payable to Mont Bleu by mail to the registrar address. Note that registration date is related to completed team information and full payment. No refund. Only registered participants will get an acknowledgment by email.

 

Information: montbleu@sympatico.ca

Registrar address : Mont Bleu, 18 Soleil-Levant, Morin Heights, Quebec, Canada, J0R 1H0

Rogaine Laurentides

Samedi 10 septembre, 2016 - Durée 4 & 8 Heures

Un sport d’aventure carte et boussole

ROGAINE est un acronyme de "Rugged Outdoor Group Activity Involving Navigation and Endurance". D'origine australienne, ce sport d'aventure carte et boussole est en pleine expansion en Amérique du Nord. Pour les amateurs, c'est une activité récréo-touristique originale accessible en pleine nature. Pour les professionnels, c'est un raid d'orientation pertinent pour tester les connaissances et l'équipement. Les participants proviennent de différents milieux: amants du plein air, randonneurs, coureurs, adeptes des raids d'aventure et de l'orienteering, scouts, cadets de l'armée, militaires, personnel de recherche et de sauvetage, secouristes, policiers et pompiers.

 

Le Concept est fort simple: Des équipes composées de 2 à 4 personnes visitent des postes de contrôle afin d'optimiser leur pointage dans le temps prescrit. La visite des postes de contrôle est libre et l'itinéraire est au choix de l'équipe. Chaque participant est muni d'une boussole et d'une carte topographique montrant la localisation des postes de contrôle. Chaque poste de contrôle est identifié sur le terrain à l'aide d'une balise rouge et blanche. Chaque balise possède un poinçon unique qui permet à l'équipe d'authentifier son passage. Une description de contrôle permet de préciser la localisation des balises (ex. sommet, bout du lac, coin du champ, etc.) et le pointage associé.

 

Horaire: Le secrétariat sera ouvert de 8h00 à 9h00. Arrivez tôt. Il y aura une session d'information obligatoire à 9h00 qui sera suivie de la distribution des cartes topographiques. Les cartes de contrôle seront distribuées juste avant le départ. Il y aura un départ de masse à 10h00. Ne soyez pas en retard, car nous serons à l'heure.

 

Carte: La carte topographique est produite spécialement pour cet événement à partir des meilleures sources d'information géographique disponibles et de relevés de terrain. La localisation des postes de contrôle et des points d'eau sont imprimés sur la carte. La carte topographique montre avec précision les sentiers, les infrastructures, l'hydrographie et l'hypsométrie. Les méridiens de la carte sont orientées au nord magnétique afin de faciliter l'utilisation de la boussole.

 

Catégories: HE8, FE8, XE8, HM8, FM8, XM8, HV8, FV8, XV8 (H: homme / F: femme / X: mixte) (E: Elite 18-39 ans / M: Maître 40-54 ans / V: Vétéran 55+ ans) (durée de 8 heures). La catégorie est basée sur la moyenne d'âge des coéquipiers le jour de l'événement. La catégorie Z4 permet de combler les besoins des familles et des participants en solo (pas de structure de genre et d'âge pour l'épreuve d'une durée de 4 heures).

 

Règlements: Aucun moyen de locomotion et aucune assistance à l'équipe ne sont autorisés durant l'épreuve. Le dépôt de matériel, eau et nourriture ne sont pas autorisés avant et pendant l'épreuve. Les membres de l'équipe doivent demeurer à vue et à distance de conversation pendant toute la durée de l'épreuve.

 

Pointage: Chaque poste de contrôle a un pointage prédéterminé en fonction du niveau de difficulté. Le pointage final des équipes se calcule en additionnant le pointage assigné à chacun des postes visités. Une pénalité de 10 points par minute sera retranchée du pointage final des équipes qui arriveront en retard.

 

Terrain: Le territoire est constitué de plusieurs collines, lacs et milieux humides. Un réseau étendu de sentiers complète le tout. Le territoire est couvert de forêts de densités variables.

 

Équipement: Les participants doivent emporter tout l'équipement dont ils auront besoin durant l'épreuve. Chaque participant doit avoir un sifflet, une boussole et un contenant d'eau. Il y aura quelques points de ravitaillement en eau. Nous recommandons d'emporter de la nourriture, des pantalons longs, des vêtements de rechange, des lunettes de protection, une trousse de premiers soins, un téléphone cellulaire et un petit havresac pour transporter le tout. La nourriture et les liquides seront fournis au centre de compétition à la fin de l'événement.

 

Directions: VONT ÊTRE ANNONCÉES DEUX SEMAINES AVANT L'ÉVÉNEMENT.

 

Inscription: Par courriel ou par la poste. Fournir le nom d'équipe, la catégorie, les noms, les dates de naissance, les adresses postales, les numéros de téléphone et les adresses électroniques des coéquipiers. Aucune inscription le jour de l'événement ne sera acceptée.

 

Frais: 70$/personne avant le 31 juillet; 80$/personne avant le 3 septembre. Demi tarif pour les participants dans la catégorie Z4. Envoyer un seul chèque par équipe qui est libellé au nom et à l'adresse de Mont Bleu. Notez que la date d'inscription retenue sera celle de la réception des informations de l'équipe et du paiement complet. Aucun remboursement. Seuls les participants inscrits recevront un accusé de réception par courriel.

 

Information: montbleu@sympatico.ca

Adresse du registraire : Mont Bleu, 18 Soleil-Levant, Morin-Heights, Québec, Canada, J0R 1H0