St. Matthew's has been blessed with caring ministers willing to share their time and energy to help our congregation move closer to God.
Our Current Minister
Rev. Dr. David Kim-Cragg, PhD

Rev. David Kim-Cragg was ordained in 2000 and has served in a variety of different ministries.  He loves to lead worship and brings a style that is informed by a lifelong passion for stories and storytelling.  David is committed to intercultural worship and has worked hard as a minister to eliminate stigma against sexual and gender diversity in the church. 반갑습니 다. 很高興見到你. از ملاقات شما خوشبختم  はじめまして. masarap akong makilala.

David comes to St. Matthew’s United after 11 years in Saskatoon where he has most recently been serving as Ecumenical Chaplain at the University of Saskatchewan and studying and teaching at the University of Saskatchewan.  David is a PhD in history with a dissertation on the history of relationship between the Korean and Canadian church.  In Saskatoon, he also served 5 ˝ years as minister to Grosvernor Park United Church, a congregation with a courageous Affirming ministry to rainbox_trianglethe LGBT2Q+ community.  Before that he and his family served as overseas personnel in South Korea.  His first years in ministry were in southwestern Ontario, as a rural minister near Sarnia and a Youth and Young Adult Minister to the area surrounding Windsor.   

David hails from Sudbury, Ontario.  He loves walking, biking and canoeing.  He speaks French and Korean as second languages.  A brief video introduction can be found online at:

Our Past Ministers
Warren_Ball Terry_Thom Wayne_Reed
Rev. Warren Ball
2016 to 2020
Rev. Terry Thom
2010 to 2015
Rev. Wayne Reed
2001 to 2009
James_Clarke James_Cullen Bruce_Roffey
Rev. James Clarke
  1993 to 2000
Rev. James Cullen
1989 to 1992
Rev. Bruce Roffey
1983 to 1988
Jan_Rhijnsburger Morar_Murray_Hayes Harold Martin
Rev. Jan Rhijnsburger
1980 - 1982
Rev. Morar Murray-Hayes
1977 to 1980
Rev. Harold Martin
1976 - 1977
Rev. John McTavish
1970 to 1975
Rev. James Burn
1963 to 1970
Rev. William Patterson
1958 - 1963
Our Ministerial Students

Several students for ministry have grown from the ranks of our congregation. These include: G. King, S. Worsfold, W.J. Patterson, C. Lawrence, A. Jones and J. Jones.


To Contact us:

333 Crosby Avenue,  Richmond Hill  ON  L4C 2R5
(Crosby Ave. is between Bayview Ave. and Yonge St. north of Major MacKenzie Ave.)
Phone:   905-884-3606